Blogging 201: Day Two – Audit Your Brand

In what can only be termed a ‘sorrynotsorry’ way, apologies for not getting around to this yesterday! Second day and I’m already flagging …!

So. Day Two.

Audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say.

I have various different ways listed on my blog that people can read my content. I publicise to Tumblr, Facebook, Google+ and Twitter. I also have links on my blog asking people to follow me directly on WP, by email, on Instagram and via Twitter. I don’t provide a direct link to my Facebook page.

Today’s brand update was actually adding the Twitter feed directly onto my homepage. I don’t Tweet a lot at present, and its mainly activity on Soundcloud and here on WP that goes on there at the moment, but hopefully once I get a bit more proficient then this will grow.

Perhaps I should also think about getting a ‘professional’ Twitter account? If my blog was only about my writing, or only about genealogy or gardening then this would make sense. However, my blog here is an amalgam, and I’m not sure how having a separate account would play out.

I would also – at some point – quite like a custom theme, complete with custom domain with associated custom email address. However, financially that isn’t a priority at the moment!

I don’t know why, but I feel that this one is a bit of a fail.

2 comments

  1. I too have considered a professional Twitter account but I just don’t think I have enough going on with the crafty type stuff to warrant posting a fairly random thing every so often to a handful of followers (one of the reasons I ended up closing my Twitter account a while back.) They are great if you have lots of things you want to get out there and can build a big following but I think it needs some careful thought and structure to what you are / aren’t going to tweet about. Plus I never really ‘got’ Twitter. I never looked at stuff other people were doing, but maybe that’s just me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

