Blogging 201: Day One – Goals

Featured Image -- 1346

Another month, another blogging challenge. Details here!

But on to Day One.

Consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve. 

Nice. I tend to be a bit vague about things like this. When I worked for a particular company, we had annual objectives that we were to be assessed on at the end of every year, and every autumn there would be this great big wankfest hoo-ha and we’d all go off into groups and jerk each other off discuss things and all that ji jazz. The main thing that we had to remember was to make them (and I can’t believe that I’m saying this) SMART. That is:

S – Specific

M – Measurable

A – Attainable

R – Realistic

T – Timebound

Which is wank company speak to let us know that what the more detailed we made those objectives the better, and … well, they’re pretty self-explanatory.

So with that in mind, here are my three goals that I’d like to achieve.

  1. Its blatantly stealing from the Day One task notes, but I would like to introduce a specific weekly posting feature by the end of the month. I don’t know what that would be – whether it relates to my garden, my family history, my photography, or my writing posts – but I can decide on that later.
  2. Be more active in reading/following/commenting on other people’s blogs and establish a network of blogs/bloggers by the end of June.
  3. Create/establish a proper blog-related presence on Twitter. Although I do have a personal Twitter account, I rarely use it, and I think that getting out there would be great exposure for me and my blog.

I could include the creation of an editorial calendar as I tend to just blurt things out whenever I get a chance and/or think of them!

18 comments

  1. Good luck with your goals! I would really like to see weekly postings on family history. I’m planning to start writing on that soon but never actually thought of it as a weekly feature. Let me know how that goes.

    Like

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I already do a fair amount on my family history, but I don’t have a set structure or anything. Maybe an Ancestor Of The Week or something … 😉

      Like

        1. Yeah – I do it both personally (for over 15 years) and professionally (for about 5 years). I use a whole heap of sites – including FamilySearch!

          Its amazing sometimes what you can discover – and you never know what you’re going to turn up!

          Like

        2. Wow! 15 years! Sounds like you have a wealth of knowledge. I guess you use ancestor.com.

          Have you been able to do any DNA testing? I recently heard that ancestry.com offers that feature. If you’d had any success in that regard, let me know.

          Like

        3. Yeah – Ancestry.com (as I have family in UK and USA, as well as having done research for Canada and Australia) as well as FindMyPast.co.uk. I think those (and FamilySearch) are the main big ones that I use most!

          LOL Knowledge … yeah. Just tips and tricks and things. Its all experience!

          I haven’t done any DNA tests yet – but I would like to. Unfortunately you can’t send bodily fluids (ie saliva) through the international mail, and all of the labs Ancestry use are in the USA. There are others, but I’m waiting until the cost comes down a bit!!

          A cousin of mine who lives in CT has used the Ancestry DNA service for himself and convinced a number of his relatives to also submit samples. He was very happy with the service and the results. I think that he would like to do a more detailed one, as the Ancestry results are basically geographic regions of ancestors. Does that help? 😉

          Like

    1. Honestly? I have no idea … it just kind of turned up in my Media Library! Its a mystery. But I was erroneously signed up for 101 originally so I figured it was something to do with that …

      If you want to steal it then be my guest! I’m pretty sure that it’s official!

      Like

  2. You and I must have worked for the same company!
    Twitter is like Narina. It looks shit from the outside but once your in it you don’t even know how to get out!
    Good Luck with your goals!

    Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      I hated all that jobwank speak – I still do. At one place we used to play Buzzword Bingo in meetings. If I’d done it at that place then I’d never have got anything done.

      Yeah – I have a bit of an aversion to Twitter. Do you have any tips to using it? 🙂

      Like

      1. If i’m last time i hear something ‘at a high level’ will be a joyful day!

        Twitter is great, (if I had really great tips I’d have way more followers by now), just boringly tweet regularly, and engage/tweet out to others.
        I’ve had some of my favourite authors/bloggers/vlogger tweet me back which always feels pretty good!x

        Like

        1. I know the feeling!!

          Yes – its that whole engagement thing, I think, that puts me off. Obviously it’d be a whole lot easier if everyone just knew how awesome I was and came flocking 😉

          Like

Leave a Reply

