Garden Gifts

Its Spring, therefore the Great Garden Gift swap is under way with my mother. And when I say “gift swap” I mean her sending me plants. Technically this is the second consignment received as the first was made up entirely of bunches of snowdrops. There were other things than plants in this delivery, and some are mentioned at the alterna-blog here, but also included a dozen fresh hen eggs, which is all to the good.

This crop is a bit of a mixed bag, plant-wise.

First up is a load of small evening primrose (Oenothera biennis) plants. As these tend to self-seed and spread like billy-o, I’m not entirely sure where I’m going to put them as yet. Despite the rather lacklustre and limp appearence below, they are fine!

2014-04-09 10.10.36

Then there are three peppermint-scented geranium (Pelargonium tomentosum) cuttings in a pot. I shall be potting these on into a much larger pot that I’ll put by the front door in order to smell the rather strongly scented leaves when we brush past.

2014-04-09 10.10.28

 

Lastly, there’s the … others.

2014-04-09 10.10.17

Back left, winter honeysuckle (Lonicera fragantissima). Front left, unnamed hardy geranium. Front, er, middle, ‘double snowdrop’ (presumably Galanthu nivalis f. pleniflorus ‘Flore Pleno’). Back right, starflower (Ipheion uniflorum) and ‘mini daffs’ (Narcissus sp.). These dwarf daffodils are pretty special because they are from the same set of bulbs that my great-grandmother had in her garden (I don’t know how long individual daffodil bulbs last), which brings my ‘heirloom’ plant count up to … two.

I’m still waiting for the tulips and ‘Mayleen’ to burst their buds, and the hyacinths are dying off rapidly now. I know its all a great cycle, and the end of one flowering period ushers in another, but its always a bit sad when things start to go over! But everything is (touch wood) looking rather healthy at the moment! There are one or two areas that will need some attention this year, but I promised myself that I wouldn’t go crazy with buying plants (mainly because I can’t afford it …) after last year’s extravaganza.

Which is where the free plant gifts come in so very handy!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

