99 Problems And My Garden Ain’t One Of Them

I have a problem.

Okay, I have many problems, but the one I am referring to in this instance is my ability to procrastinate.

Especially where writing is concerned.

I am currently undertaking a … how to describe it? … writing challenge (not the correct word but right now it will suffice) with an author friend of mine.

Week One was 3 pages. Not a problem. Blasted it out of the park with five pages (and two Rocky Horror references). Not too difficult when your inspiration looks like Brian Mazza.

Week Two was another 3 pages and a plot outline. Week Two technically ended on Sunday afternoon. As it happened, both of us had somewhat shitty weeks so we agreed to extend for another day. Currently my ‘3 pages’ is standing at one and a half (of stink).

You’d think, therefore, that an afternoon spent at my keyboard would be wise, even necessary, especially as I am the setter of the Week Three exercise.

This did happen. For a short time. However, I spent an hour outside in the garden. (The 90 minute phone call afterwards helping my mum register an email address and set up her tablet wasn’t exactly my fault.)

But an hour well-spent all the same, with general tidying and preparing and weeding and whatnot.

I now have three irises in flower.

2014-02-24 14.50.10

The more exposed clematis is shooting strongly in three places. (It did this early last year too – and then it got knocked back by frost.)

Compare to a picture taken on 05 March last year:

P1100795

Currently no more blue Anemone blanda in flower, but I did give a whoop (yes, a 34 year old, 6’4″ man can whoop) when I spotted that the winter aconite (Eranthis hyemalis) are breaking ground and flowering!

2014-02-24 15.05.41

I also have an allium coming on nicely. No idea if its the Album or Purple Sensation (what do you mean, label things??).

2014-02-24 15.09.52

The hyacinths also remain strong and are coming along very nicely indeed, as do the tulips.

2014-02-24 15.09.21

And because I think they are quite lovely … more oxslip/primrose pics.

And my 3 pages?

Still 1 and a half pages of stink …

2 comments

  1. Forgetting what you’ve planted where means it’s always a surprise when they come up. Stuff in our garden my mum’s garden, I refuse to have anything to do with it) just hasn’t stopped flowering, which is just weird.

    Like

    1. Some of my primroses have been on continuously since August. Some of my sweet rocket (sounds rude when I put it like that) still has flowers on. Bizarre winter. Waiting for the fimbulwinter …

      Like

Leave a Reply

