Spring Has Not Sprung

Looking out onto my garden, in the rays of the late afternoon sunshine, you’d be forgiven for thinking that the worst of the winter depredations were over. Whilst not early April, it could pass as a day in mid March with everything green and the promise of spring just around the corner.

Despite appearances, it isn’t. Its one week into February and I can’t remember the last time we had a frost. I like to think that we have had one since New Year, but I wouldn’t like to commit to that.

As I have mentioned, the primroses (Primula vulgaris) haven’t really stopped flowering and are still going strong. Here’s one my mother swears is called ‘Ron’s Red’, but I can’t find it mentioned online, and it looks fairly purple to me.

2014-02-09 14.33.19

And talking of my mother … I was on the phone to her this morning (its a regular Sunday thing), I was looking out across the sodden wastes lawn and noticed a smattering of yellow in the fenceline. Clearly it couldn’t be the cowslips (Primula veris) oxlips (Primula elatior) coming into flower. Could it?

2014-02-09 14.32.36 2014-02-09 14.32.23

So that’s a thing.

Plus I saw an Eurasian Blackcap (Sylvia atricapilla) the other day feeding in the garden. Which at least is a change from the resident thugs visitors – pigeons, jackdaws, starlings & magpies.

Blackcap by Margaret Holland

Blackcap by Margaret Holland

The forecasters seem to be saying that this is our lot (wind and rain but above-average temperatures) for the remainder of the month, but with colder snaps between the wet nearer the end of February/beginning of March. So nothing to get excited about.

Leave a Reply

