Zero to Hero: DAYS 27-28: CATCH UP (SORTA)

A bit of a twofer today!

Day 27: Revisit a Task and a Post

Today’s assignment: Pick your favourite of all the tasks we’ve done so far, and revisit it. How can you continue to grow? (Bonus: revisit a post that’s been on your mind, and make the edits you’ve been thinking about.)

Yeah, you see, I looked at this one yesterday and wasn’t feeling it. I left it for a bit and still wasn’t feeling it. This morning … still wasn’t feeling it. And nothing is grabbing me still. Don’t get me wrong – there’s tasks I’ve done that I feel have improved my experience of blogging, and I enjoyed messing about with the widgets and whatnot but … *shrug*

Day 28: Build on Your Popular Content

Today’s assignment: Find the post that has received the most views, likes, or comments, and write a related follow-up post. 

Genuinely, I’m not bothered by or motivated by views, likes or comments. So far in this past month I’ve published a tiny amount (if any) of posts that relate to what this blog was set up for: genealogy, gardening, photography. Is that my fault? Could I have somehow shoehorned a post about my great-grandparents wheatfarming in the midwest into one of the Z2H tasks? Possibly (to both questions).

However, looking at my stats a few things are clear. The vast majority of unique visits rose dramatically on those days I posted a link in the Z2H daily forum thread and dropped off on those days I didn’t. By far the most Liked pages are those dedicated to a Z2H task – very few people seem to go from there to other non-Z2H posts. That either says something about the people who visit or something about the other posts I have here. But see earlier comment about not being bothered by my stats.

I’m not being bitter, or even ungrateful to those who have visited, commented and followed, I’m just sharing my thoughts and feelings on the matter.

I can understand the underlying point of this task: obviously you want to give people more of what they like and less of what they don’t. But what if your blog has a specific, or niche, angle or covers the things that you want to talk about? What if I want to do several posts about the osteology of the ctenosauriscidae – which would interest only a handful of people in the entire world? Would that be more or less worthy than, for example, discussing the latest excrescences of the Kardashians – which would possibly show up on more Google searches and produce more traffic?

Just something to think about when reviewing stats and visitors.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

