Zero to Hero: DAY 9: DEEPER INTO THE BLOGOSPHERE

I made some biscuits today, and in a total sorrynotsorry admission, I keep eating them. It doesn’t help that I have some soup bubbling away (spiced courgette) and I nab one every time I go in for a stir.

 

So down to business. Today’s Zero to Hero challenge is an extension of the activity introduced on Day Four:

Today’s assignment: Follow five more blogs and/or topics.

I’ll admit it. This made my heart sink a bit. Why? Because I recognise I have a lazy and selfish side to me. No, hear me out! I recognise it, and when I see it rearing its head (or slouching its shoulders or sidling away) I try to challenge it. Do I want to be that person who just sits and waits for everything to come to him? Not so much. (Although doesn’t it stick in your craw when you see it happening to other people?)

I’ll also admit that I find thinking of tags/topics to put into the Reader somewhat difficult. But in order to grow as a blog – and a person – getting seen by other people is a good thing! You never know where it’ll end up.

Several years ago (alright – over 10) I was a member of an online forum focusing on one of the authors I read a lot (Anne McCaffery, if you’re asking). Through that site I met someone who quickly became a good friend. We realised, as we chatted, that we had a lot in common (not only our tastes in literature and men in shorts, but other – deeper – areas such as the way we view the world and men in smaller shorts) and he remains one of my three best friends to this day.

The point I’m kind of making is that if you put yourself out there then good things can happen*, but if you do nothing then nothing happens.

Consequently I’ve spent the last couple of hours adding topics to my Reader, liking, commenting and following. I could share those links to the new blogs I follow, but instead I’m going to see if I can add a widget onto my home page to do it for me …

 

*You also  meet a lot of loons – but that’s another story.

2 comments

  1. The point I’m kind of making is that if you put yourself out there then good things can happen*, but if you do nothing then nothing happens.

    I think you put this very well! And I think one or two loons is usually worth the trade-off. 😉

    Congrats on jumping in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

