Zero to Hero: DAY 1: INTRODUCE YOURSELF

For the past few years (I think?) the guys over at The Daily Post have been running a 30 days to a better blog programme that doles out “digestible blogging assignments” in order to create “a blog [I’m] excited about”.

Image

Day One:

Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

Who I am and why I’m here … A surprisingly difficult concept to get up and running with – and one that I’ve avoided expressing explicitly here at Flibberatic Skreebles. In the smallest of nutshells its a place for me to plant a flag and say “mine”, a place for me to wax lycrial about the subjects that are important to me – or at least interest me. That is most often going to be me sharing photographs that I’ve taken, stories I’ve uncovered through my family history research, tales of my garden and possibly even works that I’ve written. Stories and journeys. That kind of thing.

Why not just write a journal in book form? I used to do that. I have a collection of hardbound books that I scribbled in from the late 1990s to the early 2000s but I eschewed that format for several reasons. I find it easier to type than handwrite. That’s lots to be said about taking the effort to hand write thoughts, but I find that my hand hurts. Yep. You read that right. Using a format such as WordPress also allows me to segment what I write and – more importantly – allows me to easily review particular posts on particular themes. Do I want to know what I’ve written about my grandfathers, my garden or pictures I’ve taken? I can do that without wading through pages and pages (or books and books) to get everything I need. There’s also the ability to add media and link to elsewhere when I want to refer to something but not to copy a whole chunk of info.

It would be nice to connect with people – of course it would. I’ve been operating in the online world since the mid-1990s (the good old days of AOL and dial-up connections when an upgrade to 56k was something to get excited about) and have made several ‘real world’ friends through them being virtual friends first. This includes my husband (although he likes to downplay that time in our nascent relationship!). I don’t see the one being separate from the other. They’re intertwined for me. Perhaps not as much as for “youngsters of today” (makes me sound very old …) who have never lived without high-speed broadband connections, wifi or social media who don’t so much flip from one to the other but merely shift focus between two equally valid realities. Sorry – a drift into modern consciousness.

Yes, it would be nice to reach out and find other people out there who are interested in similar things to me – isn’t that the point of all methods of social intercourse? – but how to reach them … that’s the big one!

That’s what my blog is about. Sort of.

But what about me? Who am I?

My name is Dominic Murray. I live in Wiltshire, England. I’m 33, and three years ago I married a wonderful man who I have now known for almost 14 years. He came along with a wonderful dog who was a major part of our life together but who succumbed to her various illnesses in the autumn of 2013, just shy of her 17th birthday.

The Empress

The Empress

My parents live in France. I have 3 brothers, 2 nephews, 3 nieces and a grand-niece. I’m half-American. I’m tall. I like reading, writing, learning, cooking, talking, laughing and all kinds of things. I don’t like bananas or mushrooms and have an intolerance toward oranges.

If there’s anything else you want to know then please ask.

4 comments

    1. Thank you. Yes, we do. Its harder for my other half as he had her from a puppy and spent every day with her, and as clichéd as it sounds it is like losing a family member.

      Like

Leave a Reply

