So … Bulbs …

Last weekend I decided that I would get my act together this year and get my bulbs sorted early so I wan’t then going “Oh no … its all wet and frosty out now … too late …” come November/December.

I probably should point out that I did buy bulbs last autumn … but never exactly got around to putting them in the ground … Ahem. But at least somebody bought them from me (the glory of eBay …).

So we trooped off to a local garden centre to see what we could see. A few weeks previously we’d gone to a different garden centre but upon asking the manager a question regarding leaf mould, the answer was so abrupt that I was determined to not purchase bulbs from him (yep, that’ll learn him …). I didn’t realise that it was the opening day of their Christmas shop.

I detest the fact that as soon as September rolls around (August in some cases) shops start on their Christmas schtick. Maybe its a way to shift the extra of last year’s stock. Maybe its a ploy to get you to buy it now and then also again later as you’ve either forgotten you’ve already bought it, or given in to temptation and already eaten it.

Saying that, I buttoned my lip and we took a stroll through the twinkly lights and glass decorations. And you know what? I didn’t feel disgusted. I actually felt a bit warm and fuzzy. Yeah, it surprised me, too. But no Christmas purchases made.

Just bulbs.

And another plant.

The plant was Helleborus niger ‘Christmas Carol’. Good for clay soil and pretty hardy (it doesn’t like strong, cold wind), it doesn’t mind shade as long as its moist and in humus-rich soil.

Helleborus niger 'Christmas Carol'

Helleborus niger ‘Christmas Carol’

The bulbs – all now planted! – were a mixture. Oddly, considering that white tulips are one of my favourite flowers, I don’t have any tulips at all!

  • 2 x Allium rosenbachianum ‘Album’ – tall, white-flowering
  • 10 x Allium hollandicum ‘Purple Sensation’ – shorter than the white, purple-flowering
  • 20 x Iris reticulata ‘Cantab’ – low-growing, blue-flowering
  • 40 x Chionodoxa luciliae ‘Glory of the Snow’ – short, purple-flowering
  • 10 x Eranthis hyemalis (Winter aconite) – short, yellow-flowering
Eranthis hyemalis April 2005 in Tradgardsforeningen Gothenburg, Sweden

Eranthis hyemalis April 2005 in Tradgardsforeningen Gothenburg, Sweden

A fortnight or so before planting those, I also planted around 50 hyacinth bulbs that my mother had given me back in the summer after she’d dig up and sorted her own selection. Some blue, some pink. I think.

Hopefully, come March, there’ll be some movement!

One comment

Leave a Reply

